Quote of the Day: July 14th, 2005

Where do we go from here?
This isn’t where we intended to be,
We had it all, you believed in me,
I believed in you.

Certainties disappear,
What do we do for our dream to survive?
How do we keep all our passions alive,
As we used to do?

Deep in my heart I’m concealing
Things that I’m longing to say.
Scared to confess what I’m feeling,
Frightened you’ll slip away.

-Evita, the movie, not the play.

I guess they added it for the movie.

She sings it when she’s dying, fading, and she’s afraid that since she has nothing to offer, Peron will leave her. The song is called “You Must Love Me” and she realizes that, contrary to what she believed before, sometimes there is someone who “hasn’t an eye on, in fact they rely on, tricks they can try on their partner.” She realizes that he isn’t just looking for her to boost him up, he really does love her.

~ by kiranapoleon on July 14, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
