Church Update #2- Episcopal Church

Episcopalian= not quite my thing.

The service today was at St. John’s Episcopal Church.

According to Wikipedia, there are 3 Saint Johns- The Baptist, the Apostle, and the Evangelist, so I don’t know which John they mean.

Oh well.

Anyway, everything at this church seemed a little bit high-strung. It was hard to follow along, to know what to say and when, when to stand, kneel or sit, and which verses of the hymns to sing. I like the part of church where everyone there is really really nice, and this church was good for that. There was even a part of the service where you were supposed to turn to everyone around you, shake their hands, and say “peace be with you.” That was nice. I like interacting with people in faith-based situations.

The Eucharist was a new experience for me. I’ve never eaten the symbolic body and blood of Jesus before. That’s one thing I could do without. I always imagined the wafers to be thinner, so that they disolved on your tongue easier, but alas, that thing is thick. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think you’re supposed to chew it, so I just left it in my mouth for a while. I also don’t particularly like wine, so having a wine-dipped piece of bread in my mouth was not the greatest. The aftertaste is still in my mouth.

The sermon was short, which was nice. It definitely didn’t drag on like the last one I saw did. It had to do with stopping sexual abuse, in the home, in the workplace, in the church, and everywhere. That was kind of nice. It made more sense to me than Jesus telling a man he wasn’t allowed to bury his father, or say goodbye to his family.

Three Bible verses were read- “lessons” but they weren’t elaborated upon so they were kind of in-one-ear-out-the-other for me.

Also, 8:30 was a bit too early for me. I was up late catching up with some friends, so it was painful to have to wake up that early, especially since I knew that there was another service at 10. I also think I’m getting sick, so sleep deprivation hits particularly hard.

Next week I think I want to go Lutheran.

~ by kiranapoleon on July 16, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
