The Master of Alone/ I Love Love

I’m sorry, I’m in love-mode these days, please bear with me. I promise/hope that I will get over it soon and stop caring so much that my life isn’t like a movie.

The movie= The Holiday. Really quite a cute movie, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Turns out I am. When I watch chick flicks I just feel it in my gut–the wrenching alone feeling. Or if, at the time, I am not single, the butterflies. I guess I like that feeling–both of them, even the one that hurts.

There’s a line in the movie where the old Hollywood screenwriter tells Kate Winslet’s character that she is playing the role of “the friend” when she should have been cast as the leading lady. She responds along the lines of, “shouldn’t I at least be leading lady of my own life?”

Ah yes. It hits home. Sitting with friends while they complain about dysfunctional relationships and not having a bit of advice to offer them but thinking the whole time about how perfect it could be if they just looked up and realized that something good was right in front of them. It’s frustrating.

In one scene, Kate Winslet’s character and Jack Black’s character are out to lunch. He gets a call from an ex (a “bad girl”), and leaves Kate Winslet (perfect for him) to finish her lunch alone. She supports him the entire time, even when he is letting her down.

Definitely close to home.

And to make matters worse, the entire time I was in the theatre I was thinking about someone who I probably should not be thinking of in the context of a romantic comedy. Yet still I think of him and wish I was watching it with him (he’d probably hate it anyway). I wished he was sitting next to me, our hands almost touching, and I knew exactly the moments when we’d simultaneously reach out our pinkies just slightly, and our fingers would brush, and intertwine, and it would be good.

I have a vivid imagination, apparantly.

Alas, here I am alone, and kicking myself for even wanting the things I am wanting, which is ridiculous and also a fabulous way to remain alone.

Trust me on this one.

~ by kiranapoleon on December 8, 2006.

6 Responses to “The Master of Alone/ I Love Love”

  1. what’s up, found the page through your stumble upon. I tried to write a blog not so long ago when I was quite lonely and I found that it helped, but I also found myself longing for a comment. I’ve got no advice or interesting things to say really, but hopefully you’ll be just a little excited to get a comment at all, especially all the way from Christchurch, New Zealand. Hope things are going well, stranger.

    later,
    Brian
    http://www.harmonphotography.co.nz

  2. what’s up, found the page through your stumble upon. I tried to write a blog not so long ago when I was quite lonely and I found that it helped, but I also found myself longing for a comment. I’ve got no advice or interesting things to say really, but hopefully you’ll be just a little excited to get a comment at all, especially all the way from Christchurch, New Zealand. Hope things are going well, stranger.

    later,
    Brian
    http://www.harmonphotography.co.nz

  3. I saw it too. And thought the exact same things. And it made me feel all achy.

    Cameron Diaz annoyed the shit out of me. Everyone else was good, though.

  4. I saw it too. And thought the exact same things. And it made me feel all achy.

    Cameron Diaz annoyed the shit out of me. Everyone else was good, though.

  5. The part that hit home the most for me was Kate said

    “No matter how many glasses of chardonnay you’ve had with your girlfriends, you still lie in bed at night going over every detail, wondering where you went wrong or what you could have done differently.”

    Oh man.
    And yes, Cameron was indeed annoying

  6. The part that hit home the most for me was Kate said

    “No matter how many glasses of chardonnay you’ve had with your girlfriends, you still lie in bed at night going over every detail, wondering where you went wrong or what you could have done differently.”

    Oh man.
    And yes, Cameron was indeed annoying

Leave a Reply

 
