At the Bottom of Everything

So there’s this woman, and she was, um, on an airplane, and she’s flying to meet her fiance, sailing high above the, the largest ocean on planet earth, and she was seated next to this man who, you know, she had tried to start conversations, and, only, really the only thing she’d heard him say was just to order his, his Bloody Mary, and . . . and she’s sitting there, and she’s reading this really arduous magazine article about a third world country that she couldn’t even pronounce the, the name of, and she’s feeling very bored, and very . . . despondent. And then, uh . . . suddenly . . . there was this huge mechanical failure and one of the, the engines gave out, and they started just falling – thirty thousand feet – the, uh, pilot’s on the, on the microphone and he’s, he’s saying, um, “I’m sorry, I’m sorry, oh my God, I’m . . . I’m sorry,” and apologizing and, and she looks at the man, and she, and she says, she says, she says, “Where are we going?” And, uh, and he looks at her . . . and he says, “We’re going to a party . . . it, it’s a birthday party . . . it’s your birthday party, happy birthday, darling. We love you very, very, very, very, very, very, very much.”

-Bright Eyes, At the Bottom of Everything

So I got a new computer, and everything (for the most part) is great, didn’t lose files, etc, but it did reset everything in my iTunes. A small price to pay, considering all my songs are still there, they’re just not organized, no more “Top 25 Most Played” playlist. I’ve sort of got a weird system with iTunes, I’ve got my podcasts (indiefeed is my favorite thing ever–I listen to all the songs, keep them if they’re good and delete them if they’re bad), and I’m the only person I know of who actually uses the iTunes “rate this song” feature (4 or 5 stars make it onto the “Highest Rated” playlist, but I only give 5 stars to songs that make it onto the “Top 25 most played” playlist.)  I do have 32 gigs of music, so keeping it organized is pretty helpful.

So, today I’ve been working on getting it back to how I want it. This song came on, and for the first time ever, I actually listened to it and thought about it. It’s always sort of thrown me off that it’s got this story at the beginning, before the song starts, but it’s also a really really weird story. I was trying to visualize it, and in my head it turned into a David Lynch movie, and I realized that it’s totally adorable when Conor Oberst is telling it, but it would be totally creepy if it were a David Lynch movie.

~ by kiranapoleon on July 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “At the Bottom of Everything”

  1. Aw I used to listen to podcasts back in the day, when I used to commute an hour to work each way. So much fun. These days I don’t have time… maybe I should find a good one or 2 to listen to at the gym.

    anyway, yay for getting new computer and not losing files!

    • One I got with the hopes of listening to while working out is called Podrunner. I can’t vouch for the quality of it, since I never actually bring my iPod to the gym, but it might be worth checking out. They’re an hour long, and have the BPM in the description so you can pick one to fit your workout.

Leave a Reply

 
