Music’s Best Kept Secret

Several years ago, when I first joined Last.fm, I spent a fair amount of time browsing around the sight looking for new music. That was why I joined originally, now I mainly use it to keep track of what I’ve been listening to. Anyway, on the site, there are certain bands who offer free tracks, mostly bands you’ve never ever heard of, so you download the track, give it a listen, and decide whether or not you like the sound enough to pick up more by that artist.

Anyway, it was a lot of digging and most of the tracks I found were pretty mediocre. And then I found this band, Billie The Vision and the Dancers. They play cute, unprocessed pop music with a lot of acoustic guitar and sincere, slightly accented vocals.  The band is Swedish, but sounds (to me at least) a little more South American in style. And the best part? Their music is all available for download, free, on their website.  I especially recommend  Hold My Hand, I’m Pablo, and A Beautiful Night in Oslo to get a feel for their style.

~ by kiranapoleon on July 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
