Generation Gap

I don’t know if anyone else has had the experience, when you’re in your 20’s, and suddenly middle-aged people start to think you can relate to them, that they can say “kids these days..” and expect you to understand what they’re talking about. It’s weird to think that I am no longer “kids these days.”

I work on Saturdays selling wine at a booth in the Farmer’s market, and to my left are two booths run by middle aged, suburban women. One of them is German, so she doesn’t really try to confide in me too much. The other one does though. She sells vinaigrettes, and one day (totally out of nowhere) she came over and talked to me about the college kids who are “totally stoned.” She was mocking them, and expecting me to join her. She was leaning in really close, as if telling a secret, and it was very uncomfortable.

But honestly? People don’t go to the farmer’s market stoned. That’s just not really the crowd it attracts, and that’s definitely not the stand that would attract stone people. I mean, she’s right across from the tortilla chip people, and right next to them is a stand that sells cupcakes.

I guess since I’ve always had friends who are younger than me, I tend to want to relate to younger rather than older people. I did just graduate college, so I guess I’ve got to face that hard reality that I am no longer “kids these days” much as I wish I still was.

~ by kiranapoleon on July 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “Generation Gap”

  1. Ha ha I know the feeling… then again, as a teacher I use the “kids these days” line quite often!

    Awww you’re still a kid to me. 🙂

  2. We’re also “growing up” and all … I always find it funny, because I have mixed feelings. On the one hand, I do realize that we’re getting older, and college kids are younger than us (yay!), but on the other hand, it’s a bit funny to think about us as being old-er.

Leave a Reply

 
