CataQuiz


Cataquiz-Bowl Trophy

For Connor’s 21st birthday, last November, we took him out to trivia night at Catacombs bar. We all had a great time, and did really well, so we started going every week. Well, every few months (supposedly it’s tri-annually or maybe quarter-annually,) the host, Mike, does a “Quiz cup” where the top 6 or so teams compete for the CataQuiz trophy (see above.) Well, we won the first quiz cup, and last night the second one was held, so we were there, defending our title. Connor and I already had tickets to see Two Gentlemen of Verona at the Shakespeare Festival (I have a crush on the guy who played Proteus) so we arrived late. So, it’s 10:30, I’m wearing my fancy dress and my fancy heels, still sort of on North Carolina time, and exhausted. We missed about 2/3 of the actual trivia, but caught the last round of trivia (which determines who advances to the final three games, which determine who, of the top teams, wins first place.) I know there has to be a better way of explaining that, but I can’t think of it. Anyway, the last rounds each count for one point, and in the Quiz Cup finals, there are 5 rounds: 2 people did a drinking relay (first person drinks a beer, sets it down, second person carries a shot across the room, drinks it, sets it down, fastest with least spillage wins) then there were3 trivia rounds (name movies with Brad Pitt, albums by Madonna, and then a history round) and then Rock Paper Scissors X-Treme. So, going into RPSX (that’s what I’m going to call it) we were tied with our biggest rivals, the team that nearly beat us last year. It was a 4 person show-down, and we were quickly eliminated. Fortunately, our rivals didn’t get that point either.

So it came down to a final tie-breaker. I was the only person on the team who hadn’t participated in one of the final games, so I had to do the RPSX tiebreaker. It was best 3 out of 5, and here I am, standing in front of the room, in my heels, nearly shaking I’m so nervous. The tension in the room is incredible. My whole team, a group of Connor’s friends, has moved to seats closer to the front to cheer me on. I lose the first one. Ouch. Then we tie for a long time. Then I win! Then more ties, and finally, I beat him, 3-1. Connor’s friends have never loved me so much. We left, holding the trophy high, to return it to it’s rightful place on top of our television.

We’re huge nerds, huh?

~ by kiranapoleon on August 7, 2009.

One Response to “CataQuiz”

  1. Haha, I love it!

Leave a Reply

 
