Papa Was a Rodeo

“I like your twisted point of view, Mike
I like your questioning eyebrows,
You’ve made it pretty clear what you like,
It’s only fair to tell you now
that I leave early in the morning
and I won’t be back till next year.
I see that ‘kiss me’ pucker forming
but maybe you should plug it with a beer.”

-The Magnetic Fields

This song caught me off guard this morning as I finally listened to the words. I’ve been working on a mixtape (when’s the last time you felt so moved by a boy that you had to make a mixtape?) and I put this on it, because I liked the kind of yearning feel of the instrumentals. I didn’t even listen to the words, but on the drive to work this morning I finally listened to it and was floored by how well I can relate to it. Of course it’s an overexaggeration but everything (even down to the name) is pretty dead-on.  I’ll post the full track listing once I’m done with the mix, but I will let you know that it’s based around the song “You Belong To Me”: I’ve got 2 versions:  Dean Martin and Jason Wade on the Shrek soundtrack.


~ by kiranapoleon on August 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
