Hobbies are Good for Your Health

So, I joined a pottery co-op today.

It’s pretty awesome, it’s like having a personal studio that you share with 10 other people who give you advice on how to do stuff, and talk to you, and sometimes help you clean up. Since I am relatively new to pottery, it’s great to be able to have a space where I can work and not be intimidated because I mess up stuff a lot, or don’t do things in a very good way (throwing a plate without a bat is a terrible idea, if you actually want to keep your plate.)

This journey into pottery has been really cool for me. It’s nice to get to put my hands on something, to shape a mushy ball into something sometimes beautiful and sometimes useful and sometimes both. And even if the piece I work on ends up turning back into a ball, that’s okay too, since chances are I learned something that’ll make the next one better.

So far, I can make a pretty nice bowl if I’m lucky. I made a soap dish at Connor’s request, and it looks great, but it likely won’t balance.

I have spent probably 14ish hours in the past two days at the studio, practicing, learning, getting my hands dirty, and I couldn’t be happier. I am taking requests, so if anyone is interested in something let me know!

 

This is one of the bowls I made-- perfectly sized for cereal!

~ by kiranapoleon on March 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
